My Christmas Card!

 

Our Christmas wish for 2013!

Our Christmas wish for 2013!

This year I had one of those AH HA Moments when I was about half way done with my Christmas cards and so exhausted of coloring, cutting, stitching and melting embossing powder I couldn’t see straight.  Just a note … I make everything by hand which means that there are no Cricuits, Silhouettes, precut items … Each little piece I cut by hand.  It’s relaxing to me 🙂 It was only 2 weeks until Christmas and I hadn’t done one single “Christmas-y” type thing such as plays, music performances, visiting light shows … I had been making things for hours and hours straight.  I thought about giving up and not sending cards but then I realized (as the guilt overwhelmed me) that the very best part of Christmas for me is making the cards and sending them.  My little paper gift in an envelope with a handwritten letter … if there is time.  It means a great deal to many people.  They tell me all the time how they save every card I make and have a box full that they pull out each year to use as decorations.  It makes me feel good and warms my heart to think that they really do think of them as a little gift.  After all, I absolutely LOVE Christmas and the spirit that envelopes people during that time of year.   My mom, who used to make her cards in years past before I made them for her a few years, thinks I’m crazy.  130-150 after all is a LOT of cards and it does take about 1 to 2 hours for each card depending on how ornate they are that particular year.  BUT … when I don’t make them, people are so disappointed and ask me if they’ve seen the last one.  It makes me sad to think about not sending them so … around 2 a.m. that particular night/morning … I soldiered on and finished 115 of them.  By the time that many were done it was too late to make more and for the first time in 20 years – I actually … shhh…don’t say it out loud! … I bought some cards.  Just for those people who wouldn’t care anyway.  At least I thought they wouldn’t but that’s another story for the next post.

Snowman stamp:    Lily of the Valley Stamps

Colored with Copics and Prismacolor Pencils

Cardstock from Bazzil

Papers from Little Yellow Bicycle & Lasting Impressions

Metal tags from Lasting Impressions

Snowflakes from Jolee’s

Snow Writer

Stampendous Embossing Enamel

 

2 thoughts on “My Christmas Card!

Leave a Reply

